Sexy Sex Time

THE SERIES

Sexy Sex Time is a titillating series I created, which I also hosted as a character I invented for a live show called Booze Cruise. Georgio is a permanently-shirtless, quasi-Italian cabana boy/sex slave for the many guests of the ship. Adding to his list of accomplishments is his very own show on Booze Cruise TV, where he interviews Youtubers about a wide range of sex-related topics, seeing as how “sex intercourse” is his specialty. While the show took a comedic slant, I wanted it to be an avenue to freely discuss serious topics like monogamy or online dating or omnisexuality. Check out a few of the episodes in the playlist above!

CREW: just me.

LIGHTING: fluorescent soft box, scoop light, practicals.

CAMERAS: Canon 5d mkiii, Canon 60d, iPhone 6.

THE SET

I had a very specific vision for how I wanted the series to look and I was not willing to compromise. I also needed to meet the following criteria: (1) I wanted Georgio to interview people about sex while they were lying on a bed together. (2) Georgio lives in a cabin on a cruise ship, not a regular apartment, and cruise ship cabins have portholes. (3) Sunlight comes through portholes, which means a light needs to fit behind it. (4) I thought it would look funnier if they were in very cramped quarters, as a cabin would be. (5) Not sure why, but my vision of how the walls should look was extremely particular: dark brown with slits, an older style, as if the ship was built in the ’70s or something. (6) I needed a place that would be very convenient to shoot.

After agonizing over every possibility, I finally came to the conclusion that the only way to fulfill all the criteria and achieve my vision was to build a set in my own apartment. So I moved my dinner table to the living room and began the week-long process of transforming my dining room into Georgio’s cabin.

img_3660
After buying a bunch of wood that came in the exact design I wanted, I stained it the exact color I wanted. This picture is me puttin’ on dat clear coat before assembling the walls.
img_3698
The basic structure completed with working lights built in. The porthole is made from the frame of a clock that I bought and ripped apart. I also bought the orange sconces to add a little extra spice.
img_3702
Ready to shoot! Now I just need guests…

 

THE LIGHTING

Sexy Sex Time Lighting.jpg
The sun coming through the porthole was a scoop light clamped to the back of the set, behind the hole. I taped CTB and diffusion to the porthole so that you wouldn’t be able to see through it and it would be more blue than the practicals, like actual daylight. I don’t own film lights, but I had two fluorescent soft boxes. I put one in front, bouncing off of white foam core for some eye light and fill. I was using the other fluorescent overhead, but it was a hassle, so I ended up just using the dining room light above to fill in the space more. I wired the two orange sconces together and put them on a dimmer so I could have some nice practicals that added a little more warmth. As you can see, I wanted a three camera setup to make dialogue cuts smoother since we were improvising, but I only have two DSLRs, so I used my iPhone 6 as the third camera. It obviously doesn’t look quite as good, but it was way better than nothing…or renting. A little color correction helped match all the cameras.

Fun fact: Four out-of-town guests stayed in Georgio’s cabin while they were visiting. It was a very comfortable space.

LESSONS LEARNED

For New Years 2015, my friend told me to come up with a word that would define my year. I chose the word, ACTION, because I was in a bad habit of planning things out of existence. I would think about an idea so much that it became too overwhelming to actually execute. I had been sitting on this series idea for over a year because I couldn’t figure out where to shoot it, but it was something that I believed could be great. So I decided it would be the perfect project to test out my new word, action. No matter what challenges arose, I would find a solution and make it happen. Weeks later I had freaking built a set from scratch in my dining room. Don’t get me wrong. At times, building an entire set completely by yourself can get a wee bit frustrating…to put it mildly…but the strength of my excitement and desire to accomplish my vision luckily overpowered the anger I felt whenever difficult obstacles presented themselves. I like the series and I wish I could have made more episodes, but after a year, I needed my dining room back 😉

I didn’t fully trash the set, though. I just couldn’t do it. So I made three pieces of furniture out of the scraps! A bar, a coffee table and a headboard:

Georgio’s cabin lives on!

 

A NOTE TO PRODUCERS

Just putting this out there…  I think there is a lot of untapped potential left in this series and many topics that I would still love to explore. If you’re interested in producing a funny and (sometimes) educational show about sex-related issues that appeals to all ages, send me a message!

ESTEEMED GUESTS OF SST

Anna Akana, Brad Gage, Shane Dawson, Lisa Schwartz, Taryn Southern, Melissa Hunter, Julia Price, Awkward Kids (Michelle Glavan, Dana Pacheco, Christiann Castellanos)

Thanks for the fun times!

Sexy Sex Time guests.jpg

 

One thought on “Sexy Sex Time

Leave a Reply

